Canon HDSLRs used in TV show productions…

So a while back, I was commenting in a forum on an non-camera related site, advrider.com, that HDSLRs can do some things that video cameras can’t do.  The argument from the other side is that it was silly that DSLRs are now doing video, and that the two technologies should never marry.  Well, arguing on the net is pretty much a waste of effort on everyone’s part as you rarely sway the other party.

I do find it interesting that more and more major TV and film productions are starting to use HDSLRs for various reasons.  Here is a prime example:

 

Memphis Beat: HDSLRs in production

Canon's 5D mkII & 7D on set

Personally, I think it is a perfect marriage of technologies.  I am looking to pick up a 7D myself, and make use of both still and video capabilities.  I am primarily a still photographer, but I am also interested in video as well.  This gives me the ability to explore both in an affordable and creative fashion.

Leave a Reply

